A Lost Cause

A journey through a young girls present, past and future.

Are the characters coping well with their problems? January 15, 2010

Filed under: Coping With Problems — jimmy179 @ 6:01 pm

I’m not sure that Lisa is coping well with the loss of her brother. She’s always having these nightmares that are seeming to worsen. They usually lead to her seeing the creepy little man who likes to sit on her dresser when she opens her eyes. La’es is one thing she keeps hearing, conscious or not. It means go down to the bottom of the ocean…maybe that’s where her dear brother Jimmy is. Drowned and dead, caught up somewhere like how Uncle Mick had been caught in the fishing net.

Aunt Trudy is still drinking heavily and I’m kind of waiting for her to drink to much and maybe drown in her own vomit or something. I’m also worried about the people around her, mainly Josh and Tab(atha). She is very violent when she is drunk and has minimal control of her actions. She could hurt them…again. She has already beaten Josh, broken a bottle over his head and finally he was pushed down a set of stairs and his leg was broken. Tab is always taking her mothers shit. She’s constantly yelling at her and in a way making fun of her so Tab feels really low. Tab could snap eventually because she just sits there and takes it. I think she should say something back or try to talk it out with her mother…even if she is drunk (which I’m sure is a very hard things to do: reason with a drunk)

 

Since Jimmy is still missing Lisa’s parents are still in a constant state of worry. By now I’m thinking he’s dead and possibly they are too. They just want their son back so they don’t have to worry about his being missing anymore.

I can’t even begin to imagine the torture they are going through.

I can’t imagine how it must feel to be drunk all the time, unaware of what your actions are.

I can’t imagine how it must be to be picked on by your own mother.

I can’t imagine how scary nightmares are when they repeat and say the same message over and over again.

I just can’t imagine.

La’es, la’es, la’es.

 

2 Responses to “Are the characters coping well with their problems?”

  1. luckycharms12 Says:

    I definately agree with your opinion on the way Lisa decides to deal with this injustice and her pain. I feel very sympathetic towards her for losing her Uncle Mick because to me, he was one of the most interesting characters in the book. But i really think that she could have handled it better in many other ways.

    I really like your little poem at the end! It really expresses how many people including myself feel about all the experiences of everyone in Monkey Beach.
    – Serena

    • jimmy179 Says:

      I agree that Uncle Mick was one of the coolest characters in the book and honestly, I didn’t really realize how poetic I had made the last lines. Thanks for pointing that out:)


Leave a comment